Alize Cornet Penalized for Taking her Shirt Off at U.S. Open

2018 US Open
Venue: Flushing Meadows, New York Dates: 27 August 2018

Alize Cornet was penalized at the U.S Open for changing her top during the game break during her first-round between the 2nd & 3rd sets, defeat by Johanna Larsson.

But the umpire Christian Rask hit Alize Cornet, who stands at No. 31 in the world in the tennis game, with the code violation, adding a warning in the sport, during her first round match with Johanna Larsson.

Alizé Cornet Was Penalized for Taking Her Shirt Off

At the time of playing tennis, it was so sweltering at the U.S. due to which the heat rule was in effect, according to this rule player can take a break of 10 minutes to get cool and drink water but after their second sets only. Alize Cornet was just coming back from her 10-minute heat break when she realized that her top shirt was backward. In the meanwhile, Corner,  who was wearing a black color sports bra underneath, took her shirt off and put it back on quickly.

A WTA statement said the umpire’s ruling “was not based on a WTA rule, as the WTA has no rule against a change of attire on court” and added that “Alize did nothing wrong”.

Busted for code violation 🙄 #alizecornet took 10 sec to turn top right way but #novacdjokovic can sit for minutes half-naked. Same comp. Days after @serenawilliams slammed for disrespecting tennis because she wore a #catsuit. Not fair. Not right. Tell your daughters 🙌 pic.twitter.com/pJILnwvUvG

— Alissa Warren (@alissawarren) August 29, 2018


Cornet, 28, lost 6-4 3-6 2-6 to Sweden’s Larsson in the searing New York heat.

The United States Tennis Association (USTA), In a statement, which organizes the US Open said: “any player can change his/her shirt while sitting in the player chair. This is not considered a code violation. They also said that she was only assessed a warning with further no fine and penalty.

Comments

comments

Asad

Asad Zaman: Content writer and publisher.